Latinx Studies

The Cambridge History of Latina/o American Literature emphasizes the importance of understanding Latina/o literature not simply as a US ethnic phenomenon but more broadly as an important element of a trans-American literary imagination. Engaging with the dynamics of migration, linguistic and cultural translation, and the uneven distribution of resources across the Americas that characterize Latina/o literature, the essays in this History provide a critical overview of key texts, authors, themes, and contexts as discussed by leading scholars in the field. This book demonstrates the relevance of Latina/o literature for a world defined by the migration of people, commodities, and cultural expressions"--

"The Cambridge History of Latina/o American Literature emphasizes the importance of understanding Latina/o literature not simply as a US ethnic phenomenon but more broadly as an important element of a trans-American literary imagination. Engaging with the dynamics of migration, linguistic and cultural translation, and the uneven distribution of resources across the Americas that characterize Latina/o literature, the essays in this History provide a critical overview of key texts, authors, themes, and contexts as discussed by leading scholars in the field. This book demonstrates the relevance of Latina/o literature for a world defined by the migration of people, commodities, and cultural expressions"--

"This single-volume book provides students, educators, and politicians with an update to the classic Carey McWilliams work North From Mexico. It provides up-to-date information on the Chicano experience and the emergent social dynamics in the United States as a result of Mexican immigration. Provides readers with an in-depth understanding of the changing demographics of the Mexican immigrant population in the United States. Analyzes the major trends in U.S. immigration, including anti-immigrant policies, issues facing the unauthorized immigrant population, and the development of the immigrant rights movement. Examines the complex interrelationship between Mexican immigrants and later generations of U.S.-born Mexican Americans and the U.S. political system. Covers important recent topics such as anti-immigration movements, language debates like Prop 227 and other anti-immigrant legislation that address the education of Spanish speakers, cultural developments and art of Mexican Americans, and the changing economic outlook for Mexican immigrants. Offers the latest information on the complex interrelationship between Mexican immigrants and later generations of U.S.-born Mexican Americans"--

"More than 53 million Latinos now constitute the largest, fastest-growing, and most diverse minority group in the United States, and the nation's political future may well be shaped by Latinos' continuing political incorporation. In the 2012 election, Latinos proved to be a critical voting bloc in both Presidential and Congressional races; this demographic will only become more important in future American elections. Using new evidence from the largest-ever scientific survey addressed exclusively to Latino/Hispanic respondents, Latino Politics en Ciencia Politica explores political diversity within the Latino community, considering how intra-community differences influence political behavior and policy preferences.The editors and contributors, all noted scholars of race and politics, examine key issues of Latino politics in the contemporary United States: Latino/a identities (latinidad), transnationalism, acculturation, political community, and racial consciousness. The book contextualizes today's research within the history of Latino political studies, from the field's beginnings to the present, explaining how systematic analysis of Latino political behavior has over time become integral to the study of political science. Latino Politics en Ciencia Politica is thus an ideal text for learning both the state of the field today, and key dimensions of Latino political attitudes"--

"Latinos in the New Millennium provides essential knowledge about Latinos in the United States, contextualizing research data by structuring discussion around dimensions of Latino political life in the U.S"--Provided by publisher. This book is a profile of Latinos in the United States, looking at their social characteristics, group relations, policy positions, and political orientations. The authors draw on information from the 2006 Latino National Survey (LNS), the largest and most detailed source of data on Hispanics in America. This book provides essential knowledge about Latinos, contextualizing research data by structuring discussion around many dimensions of Latino political life in the U.S. The encyclopedic range and depth of the LNS allows the authors to appraise Latinos' group characteristics, attitudes, behaviors, and their views on numerous topics. This study displays the complexity of Latinos, from recent immigrants to those whose grandparents were born in the United States.

Biographical profiles of the important and influential persons of Latino heritage who form the international Hispanic community.

The Library of Congress has a wide variety of primary and secondary sources useful in the study of the the Latinx history and experience. Through this guide, the curators and librarians in the Library's Hispanic Division have identified the most useful resources and have recommended strategies for expanding your research on this topic. You will find links to digitized primary sources through a curated list of collections based on format, databases to locate journals or scholarly articles, and a print bibliography and additional subject searches into the Library of Congress Online Catalog.

This journal explores the local, national, transnational, and hemispheric realities that influence the Latina and Latino presence in the United States. Latino Studies presents an international research agenda that builds bridges between the academic and non-academic worlds, and promotes mutual learning and collaboration among all the Latino national groups. In addition to full-length original research articles from scholars and practitioners, Latino Studies publishes shorter ‘Reports from the Field’ that describe and analyze significant local issues, struggles and debates affecting the lives of Latinas and Latinos. The journal also offers many book and media reviews, which focus the view of scholarship on the experience of Latinas and Latinos in the United States. Another important feature of the journal is the páginas recuperadas section. These 'recovered pages' cast a scholarly spotlight on historically significant achievements by individuals, and pivotal events in Latino and Latina culture in the United States.

.

[From volume 1, number 1, 1997 to volume 3, number 1, spring 2001, this journal was published with the title Voces: A Journal of Chicana/Latina Studies ]

Chicana/Latina Studies: The Journal of Mujeres Activas en Letras y Cambio Social is an interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed, biannual flagship publication of Mujeres Activas en Letras y Cambio Social (MALCS). This feminist Chicana/Latina and Indigenous academic organization is dedicated to building bridges between community and university settings, transforming higher education, and promoting new paradigms and methods. The Journal publishes groundbreaking interdisciplinary scholarship creative works by and about Chicanas/Latinas and Indigenous women of the Americas and is receptive to all scholarly methods and theoretical perspectives that examine, describe, analyze, or interpret our experiences. English and/or Spanish submissions of scholarship, commentary, reviews, and creative writing are accepted.

.

Label Me Latina/o is an academic journal and as such follows the parameters of definitions set by the academic community. In that community when we refer to Latina/o Literature, we are referring to writers of Latin American heritage that live and write in the United States. These can be first generation Latino or fifth but they live and work here in the U.S. Some of these writers write in Spanish, others write in Spanglish like the Nuyorican poets and many of them write in English with a little Spanish thrown in (or not). Scholarly essays should address the work of these writers. The authors of these scholarly essays may be of any ethnicity or nationality. Creative works should be authored by writers who self-define as Latino and live and write in the United States.

Aztlán presents original research that is relevant to or informed by the Chicano experience. An interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed journal, Aztlán focuses on scholarly essays in the humanities, social sciences, and arts, supplemented by thematic pieces in the dosier section, an artist's communiqué, a review section, and a commentary by the editor, Charlene Villaseñor Black. Aztlán seeks ways to bring Chicano studies into critical dialogue with Latino, ethnic, American, and global studies. Aztlán has been the leading journal in the field of Chicano studies since 1970. Aztlán is issued twice a year.

.

The Journal of Latino-Latin American Studies (JOLLAS) is an interdisciplinary, international, and peer reviewed on-line journal housed at the University of Nebraska at Omaha. The journal seeks to be reflective of the shifting demographics, geographic dispersion, and new community formations occurring among Latino populations across borders and throughout the Americas. The journal emphasizes the collective understanding of Latino issues in the U.S. while recognizing the growing importance of transnationalism and the porous borders of Latino/Latin American identities.

The Journal of Latina/o Psychology is committed to publishing scholarly writing on research, practice, advocacy, education, and policy relevant to Latino communities. The journal publishes empirical, theoretical, methodological, and applied research.
We are particularly interested in manuscripts that contribute to knowledge of Latina/o psychology through research, methodological innovation, and inquiry; develop and advance theories pertinent to Latinas and Latinos; promote education and training of psychologists to work with Latinas and Latinos; address issues of social justice and advocacy in Latina/o communities; promote the application of research and training to advancement of policy related to Latino individuals and communities; and use quantitative, qualitative, or mixed method approaches.

Since 1974, the Society for the Study of the Multi-Ethnic Literature of the United States has put out MELUS. MELUS features articles, interviews, and reviews encompassing the multi-ethnic scope of American literature past and present. Most issues are thematically organized for greater understanding of topics, criticism, and theory in the total picture of American literature MELUS hopes to present. Many articles are focused on Latin@ literature.