Latinx Studies

As a leader of the American Federation of Labor, Samuel Gompers (1850-1924) championed a set of tactics and an ideology, rooted in craft-union traditions, which profoundly shaped the course of American labor history. Over 350,000 pages of union documentation throw light on the momentous struggles within the American labor movement during and just after the Samuel Gompers era. Most of the records in the collection date from the formation of the AFL in 1886 until Gompers’ death in December 1924, but there are a few materials from before 1886 and after 1924

Focusing exclusively on the Latino-Hispanic history in the U.S., this collection conveys the creative life of U.S. Latinos and Hispanics from the earliest moments of this country’s history through contemporary times. With content from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project, the largest national project ever to locate, preserve, and disseminate Latino-Hispanic culture of the United States in its written form, this database is includes over 60,000 historical articles, hundreds of political and religious pamphlets and broadsides, and the complete texts of over 1,100 historical books of Hispanic literature and culture. Content approximately eighty percent Spanish, twenty percent English; indexed and searchable in both languages.

Focusing on the evolution of Hispanic civil rights, religious thought, and the growing presence of women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries, this collection includes rare and relevant books and newspapers – including rare anarchist newspapers –presented in their original form. Extensive manuscript collections of both organizations and individuals are included for viewing, and are indexed for ease of search and maximum discovery. With content derived from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project, the largest national project ever to locate, preserve, and disseminate Latino-Hispanic culture of the United States in its written form, from colonial times to 1960, this collection includes hundreds of rare books, tens of thousands of pages of newspaper and periodical content, and personal and organizational manuscripts. Content approximately eighty percent Spanish, twenty percent English; indexed and searchable in both languages.

rom 1717 through 1836 the governments of Spain and Mexico collected in San Antonio de Bexar (when that city was the capital of Texas under Spanish and Mexican rule) an amazing series of official documents detailing the military, civilian, and political life of the Spanish province of Texas and the Mexican state of Coahuila y Texas. Having formerly worked together on a microfilm version, now, in cooperation with the Center for American History at the University of Texas at Austin, ProQuest is digitizing the Bexar Archives in History Vault.

This module consists of records of the FBI and the Subversive Activities Control Board from 1945-1972

Immigration: Records of the INS, 1880-1930 presents the investigations made during the massive immigration wave at the turn of the 20th century. The files cover Asian immigration, especially Japanese and Chinese migration, to California, Hawaii, and other states; Mexican immigration to the U.S. from 1906-1930; and European immigration. There are also extensive files on the INS's regulation of prostitution and white slavery and on suppression of radical aliens.

Latino Civil Rights During the Carter Administration : Records of the White House Office of Hispanic Affairs (1979-1981) gives rich insight into the efforts of the Executive Branch of U.S. government to reach out to the burgeoning Latino population during the last 2 years of the Carter Administration

Latino Literature: Poetry, Drama, and Fiction includes more than 100,000 pages of poetry, short fiction, novels, and more than 450 plays. Nearly all of the content is in copyright, and most of the other items are long out of print or have never before been published. Besides serving as a rich resource for literature scholars, the collection also supports the study of American history, ethnic diversity, immigrations issues, and political history.

This category contains two modules, Latino Civil Rights during the Carter Administration: Records of the White House Office of Hispanic Affairs (1979-1981) and
Bexar Archives: Colonial Archives of Texas during the Spanish and Mexican Periods, 1717-1836.

Latinx Thought and Culture: The NPR Archive, 1979-1990 showcases two radio programs: the weekly Spanish-language Enfoque Nacional (1979-1988) and the Daily English-language Latin File (1988-1990), available for the first time in a searchable database as digitized audio with transcripts. They focus on Latinx issues related to politics, sociology, human rights, the arts and more with interviews of key figures and news reporting by a new generation of Latino/a journalists at the time.