LIBRARY SERVICES DURING ACADEMIC YEAR 2021-22
 |
Need research help? Welcome to this Research LibGuide
My office is in 419A Shannon Library—located in the level 4, West Wing, inside the Subject Liaison Librarians Room. If you need help with your research, you are welcome to visit me. Please email me first to see my availability [mav4n@virginia.edu]. Also, you can contact me virtually. If you want to have a virtual appointment, I will send you a zoom link for us to meet. If zoom will not work for you, please email me and we will find another option for meeting.
|
Using Library Facilities.
- All UVA libraries are open with access to their Library stacks, rooms, and other public spaces, including the new renovated Shannon Library --the central UVA library for Social Sciences and Humanities.
Check: Library Hours and locations - Group study rooms?: reserve a room
Important:
- Refreshing our memory about Ivy Stacks library.
Ivy Stacks is a high-density shelving and retrieval facility located one mile west of Central Grounds. Materials are available for checkout through Virgo.
Using Library Services:
- If you need materials not owned by the UVA Library, please use Interlibrary Loan Services
- If you want to access any material placed in a class reserve list, please use Course Reserve Services
- If you are not on Campus and you need to use library resources, please use Off-Grounds Access
- If you want library ordering new material, please use Purchase Request Form
- LEO delivery to departments will once again be available for faculty, staff, and graduate students. This means you will be able to have books and other circulating material delivered directly to you via your mailboxes. To refresh yourself on the methodology, consult Library Express On-Grounds (LEO delivery Services)
- Instructional Scanning (ISS), which digitizes course related materials for inclusion in UVACollab sites as additional readings;
- If you need to scan any material for your research, please consult Scanning Services,
- School of Continuing and Professional Studies/Distance Education Delivery, a service which mails Library materials to SCPS and Distance Education students who live outside the Charlottesville/Albemarle County area;
- Student Support for Remote Instruction.
- VPN to access UVa Library resources, including Virgo and databases, as if you were on-grounds. UVa offers four types of VPNs for accessing UVa resources: UVaAnywhere, UVa More Secure Network, Joint VPN and High Security VPN
- How to Use Zoom .
|
Room 419A, Shannon Library. PO Box 400113
160 McCormick. Charlottesville, VA 22904
mav4n@virginia.edu Cell: 434-4222608 The most immediate way to contact me is through email. mav4n@virginia.edu.
I can meet you either by zoom or in person. |
Statement of intents
You must be aware that consulting with a subject librarian is not only obtaining quality resources from an expert in any given subject, but also that you are knocking on the door of a local, national, and international group of professionals experts in multiple aspects of your possible projects. I mean that I am part of various international organizations: SALALM, LANE and LASER, (Latin America); CIFNAL (French and Francophone world); CRL (General Research) to which I have access and from which I obtain all the necessary support.
I am available to all students who are researching any Latin American, Iberian, Italian, Lusophone, Francophone, and French topics. Also, I have a lot of experience working with Global Issues from a Social Sciences and Humanities perspective and I can support research in German and Jewish Studies. If you are an undergraduate student that need to do a large or brief research project, or a graduate student preparing a bibliography for your PhD. or master’s degree, gathering ideas about a topic, finding an archive in a different country, etc., meeting with a subject librarian early in your research process is key saving you time and to improve the content of your research.
I am also very interested in hearing your opinion on how to improve our library. Let me know If you discover new material that may be useful for your research or have an opinion on how to improve our services and resources when you work on subject related to my expertise or elsewhere.
Subject Specialties
French
German
Jewish Studies
Latin American Studies
LatinX
Spanish
Italian
Portuguese
LIBRARY RESEARCH TIPS
Three key resources to help you do research at UVA:
- Virgo is the UVA Library catalog, giving you access to thousands of books, ebooks, articles, videos, and more. If you need help with VIRGO consult the following introductory guide: Getting Started with Virgo
- The The Search, borrow, request page (Research page) on the Library website is the gateway to all of the databases the UVA Library has access to.
- Subject guides are created by Library subject experts to give you easy access to the best resources in a particular subject area.
- The Library ToolbarA toolbar for your Web browser. Highlight a citation in an article and go quickly to the full text. Speed up VIRGO searching. Link from Amazon to VIRGO.
- Find if UVA has a journal: a master listLook for journals by title and format. Find a known item via Citation Lookup.
- Online Thinking ToolBrainstorming exercise to develop your topic and keywords
- Online Thinking Tool - Combined VersionA slightly different version of the Thinking Tool designed to be completed entirely online. Will generate a downloadable PDF.
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Citation Management ToolsReference managers software allows a user to organize and retrieve information, such as citations for books, articles, and Web sites, by interfacing with library databases. The reference manager then works with word processing software to insert properly formatted footnotes or citations into a paper and create a properly formatted bibliography. The University of Virginia recommend to use Zotero since this is the most recognized open source that help you to collect, organize, cite, and share your research. .
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ Citing Sources1) Documenting SourcesIn the process of writing a research paper, you must document the cited sources with footnotes or/and end notes and a bibliography which appears at the end of your paper. In this bibliography you need to lists every work you have cited in your notes; in addition, it may include works that you consulted but did not cite. La terminologie en langue française est: "notes" (de pied de page); ¨"bibliographie consultée" or "bibliographie citée" or "bibliographie d'intérêt général". La terminología en castellano es: "Notas" (a pie de página); bilbiografia consultada o bilbiografia citada o bibliografia. La terminologia in italiano è: "Note" (a piè di pagina); bibliografia consultata o bibliografia citata o Citazione in bibliografia La terminologia em português é: "Notas" (notas de rodapé); bibliografia consultada ou bibliografia citada Die deutsche Terminologie lautet: "Notizen" (unten auf der Seite); herangezogene Bibliographie oder zitierte Bibliographie To cite your sources properly, first you need to select the appropriated manual of style. Visit the library if you need to consult a print copy of one of these style guides: a) For Humanities: Modern Language Association (MLA):Electronic version
Print edition
3) Social Sciences: Chicago Style Guide.
4) Sciences: American Psychological Association (APA)
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Free Online Citation GeneratorsThese are free, online tools. You should check the results you get. Keep in mind... most automatic generators will give you the footnote style *or* the bibliography style. You'll need to edit as necessary for the other.
Thanks to Rebecca Coleman (librarian for Architecture at UVA) for this information |
QUALITY OF RESEARCH
- Evaluating Resources (UC-Berkeley)
- Evaluating Websites (kathleenamorris.com)
- Avoid Fake News (Rebecca Coleman)
- The Literature Review (U Toronto)
- What is Plagiarism (Plagiarism.org)