Commerce

For your initial search

• Google Scholar - Find articles from most online scholarly journals plus some books and Web sites. Use Advanced Search if you get too many results; use Preferences to turn on links to Find@UVa.

Narrow down your sources with subscription-based content:

• Academic Search Complete Covers wide range of academic and general periodicals.
• Business Source Complete  Large database on business topics such as marketing, management, MIS, accounting, finance and economics. Includes scholarly journals plus financial data, books, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, market, industry, and country research. 
• EconLit - International coverage of economics in journal articles, books, dissertations, book reviews. 
• Factiva - Company and business information from Dow Jones; articles from over 6,000 newspapers and periodicals plus news photographs. Select "News pages" to browse daily issues of recent newspapers from many countries; use "Search" to find older articles.

• International Strategic Analysis (ISA) - ISA is an international research and consulting firm headquartered in Luxembourg. It provides country intelligence, economic forecasting, and international market analysis to companies, financial institutions, government bodies, and universities.

• JSTOR - Older issues of scholarly journals, from the start to 3-5 years ago. 

Depending on your topic, consider repositories of pre-prints (remember that many have not yet been peer reviewed):

• SSRN: Social Science Research Network - Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. The SSRN eLibrary consists of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts on over 542,600 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 445,100 downloadable full text documents in Adobe Acrobat pdf format.

The McIntire School of Commerce provides access to several resources that are not available outside the school.  Many of these resources are on the computers in the Rouss & Robertson Hall computer labs and include:

• Forrester Research
• Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)
• Qualtrics, the Center for Research in Security Prices (CRISP)
• CAPITALIQ
• Research software:
  • Crystal Ball
  • Research Insight
  • SDC Platinum
• Analytical software:
  • SPSS, Construx Estimate 2.0
  • Dundas Evaluation
  • MegaStat Excel Plug-in
• Educational software, like Trading Technologies' stock trading simulation.

Questions should be directed to the McIntire Help Desk, helpdesk@comm.virginia.edu.