It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases, research tools, and other useful resources related to Commerce.
Large general database of articles from scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers on many topics. Also includes reference books (World Almanac, American Heritage Dictionary), biographies, speeches, images, and other primary source documents.
AccessScience is an authoritative and dynamic online resource that contains incisively written, high-quality reference material that covers all major scientific disciplines. An award-winning gateway to scientific knowledge, it offers links to primary research material, videos and exclusive animations, plus specially designed curriculum maps for teachers.
This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. It currently contains over 9,600 sources from 160 countries.
Topics such as marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Find articles plus financial data, books, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, market, industry, and country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.
Federal, state and international tax research materials. - Federal: Standard Federal Tax Reporter, U.S. Master Tax Guide, IRS Publications, Internal Revenue Code, U.S. Tax Cases, Federal Estate and Gift Reporter, Internal Revenue Manual, and more.- State: 51 state (+D.C.) tax reporters, State Tax Guide, Multistate Corporation Income Tax Guide, Multistate Sales and Property Tax Guides, State Tax Review.- International: Tax Treaties Reporter.
"Citation Information by NII" enables searching of information on academic papers published in academic society journals or university research bulletins, or included in the National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index Database.
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides coverage of journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. It provides indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 450 journals.
Fulltext articles from 1500 academic journals in 11 subject areas (business/economics, arts & recreation, education, engineering, humanities, language & literature, law & public administration, medicine, natural sciences, social sciences, theology).
Eldis is an online information service providing free access to relevant, up-to-date and diverse research on international development issues. It includes over 30,000 summaries and links to free full-text research and policy documents from over 8,000 publishers.
Esri Business Analyst (BA) is a complete system for analyzing data to reveal insights and patterns in business. You can perform deep analysis of demographic and consumer data and combine it with your own data to gain greater understanding of your customers, competition, market, and trends. BA can be configured to share data, analysis, and insights. To access the website, you will need an ArcGIS online account, which anyone affiliated with the University can set up.
Additional information about this software can be found on the UVa GIS Resources guide (https://guides.lib.virginia.edu/gis). Access can only be obtained by following these directions. You must login thru the Enterprise login!!
Company and business information from Dow Jones; articles from over 6,000 newspapers and periodicals plus news photographs. Select "News pages" to browse daily issues of recent newspapers from many countries; use "Search" to find older articles. Access, provided through VIVA Consortium, is limited to 70 concurrent users.
Overviews of specific industries. The database is useful for career planning and job interview preparation and also for assessing investment opportunities. Provides information on the business and economic climate in US states and Canadian provinces. A Mergent database with content from Hoovers. Courtesy of the Darden Camp Library.
Business technology research and frameworks to gain insights into the changing customer, design business strategies and operations around customers, and prioritize technology investments and decisions. Their technology research is geared towards a variety of technology functions including: CIO/Technology Executives, Infrastructure & Operations, Security & Risk, Application Development & Delivery, Enterprise Architecture, and Sourcing and Vendor management. After clicking the link you will need to create a profile to access these resources.
Gartner’s Campus Access Tool enables access to the Core Research library which includes white papers, webinars, and more on an array of technology-related topics, including: information technology, administration, medical and healthcare programs, library sciences, industry trends, and analysis.
Find journal articles and other information on environmental issues such as global warming, energy conservation, natural resources and pollution. GreenFILE supports both research and practical steps for individuals.
Retrospective, full-text .pdf coverage of hundreds of legal periodicals, U.S. Supreme Court cases, the U.S. Statutes at Large, Congressional Record, hearings and other legislative history materials, Federal Register, U.S. Attorney General opinions, U.S. treaties and agreements, Foreign and International Law, Israel Law Reports, English Reports, Hague Academy Recueil des Cours, Parker School of Foreign and Comparative Law collection, and the Virginia Law Weekly archive. Searchable by citation, author/title, and keyword.
This historical collection contains establishment-level data for more than 24 million businesses, including the business name, location, industry classification code, number of employees, and sales volume. Each establishment has a unique identifier to make year over year comparisons easier. Records have also been geocoded for use with GIS software. We currently have files for 1997-2018.
Journals, newsletters, industry reports, and some books covering topics such as culinary arts, development & investment, food & beverage management, hospitality law, hotel management & administrative practices, leisure & business travel.
Provides access to 4 separate IMF datasets:International Financial Statistics – all aspects of international and domestic finance, with history to 1948.Direction of Trade - value of exports and imports between countries and their trading partners, with history to 1980.Balance of Payments - international economic transactions data and International Investment Position, with history to 1960.Government Finance Statistics - budgetary and extra-budgetary financial operations data of governments, with history to 1990.
Unique collection of statistics covering a wide range of socio-economic topics. IHS is a collection of data sets taken from hundreds of disparate primary sources, including both official national and international abstracts. Content is divided into three geographical areas: (1) Africa, Asia, Oceania, (2) Americas, and (3) Europe. Tables can be downloaded in Excel format.
ISA (International Strategic Analysis) delivers world-class international research and analysis to many of the world’s largest companies, financial institutions, government bodies and universities, providing these organizations with the information and insights needed to make key decisions regarding international markets.
iPOLL contains nearly a half-million questions from surveys conducted since 1935 by academic, commercial, and media survey organizations, including CNN, Gallup, AP, the Wall Street Journal, and many others. From the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research.
The J. Walter Thompson Company Archive documents the history, operation, policies and accomplishments of one of the world's largest and oldest advertising firms. The papers here reveal many aspects of twentieth-century cultural, social, business, marketing, consumer and economic history while investigating the human psyche.
Kanopy provides access to feature films, documentaries, short films, and more. It includes films from The Criterion Collection, California Newsreel, DEFA German Film, Media Education Foundation, Roland Collection, First Run Features, Green Planet Films, Stenhouse, Medcom, Michael Blackwood, Kino Lorber and thousands of other educational filmmakers. To watch a film off-Grounds: at the "Create your account" page, click on "Skip" to be taken to the video to view.
LinkedIn Learning is a leading online learning company that helps anyone learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. Members have access to the lynda.com video library of engaging, top-quality courses taught by recognized industry experts.
The Livingston Survey summarizes the forecasts of economists from industry, government, banking, and academia. The Federal Reserve Bank of Philadelphia took responsibility for the survey in 1990, although the data began to be collected in 1946.
Market Research and American Business, 1935-1965 provides a unique insight into the American consumer boom of the mid-20th century through access to the complete market research reports of Ernest Dichter, the era’s foremost consumer analyst, market research pioneer and widely-recognized ‘father’ of Motivational Research.
Mergent Intellect is a highly flexible web-based application that features a deep collection of worldwide business information that enables companies to generate insightful business intelligence. Coupling Mergent's expertise in developing products for the reference marketplace with D&B®'s private company database, Mergent Intellect offers new and existing clients a unique opportunity to access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more. The database is searchable by advanced criteria and resources are able to be downloaded and printed.
Information on over 35,000 current and former publicly traded companies, both from the US and from around the world. Company histories and over 200,000 annual reports in pdf, 30 years of stock prices, etc.
MIT Sloan Management Review is a research-based magazine and digital platform published at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Includes advances in management practice, particularly those shaped by technology,
Reports from the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council, written by leading researchers, on science, health, and engineering.
The NPCC database presents findings for all 31 provinces, 2,782 county-level units, and specially-administered regions. It includes breakdowns by age, sex, nationality, marital status, and educational level, plus employment by industry and occupation, with detail on vital statistics, housing, and migration. Users can download tables into Excel.
An extensive compilation of political, social, economic, environmental, etc. data on nations from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD. Can map and graphically compare data on countries as well as individual country profiles.
Full text of major American newspapers and some foreigh newspapers plus selected atories from other US regional newspapers. Also includes full-text of transcripts for television and radio network news broadcasts.
News and business information from sources around the world; book reviews, biographical, and other reference sources; U.S. Code, constitution, and court cases. Includes many newspapers. Most entries are full-text, some updated daily.
O’Reilly includes tech and business content from more than 250 publishers - along with videos, case studies, expert-curated learning paths and self-assessments.
From the drop-down menu, choose: Not listed? Click here. Then enter UVa email address to access content. Instructors: If you are using books on O’Reilly as course textbooks, please be aware that O’Reilly can and does pull titles mid-semester without notice to the Library.
The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products. Through the OKR, The World Bank collects, disseminates, and permanently preserves its intellectual output in digital form.
PolicyMap is an online data and mapping tool that enables government, commercial, non-profit and academic institutions to access data about communities and markets across the US. Use it for research, market studies, business planning, site selection, grant applications and impact analysis.
New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Pittsburgh Courier, NY Amsterdam News, Baltimore Afro-American, Washington Post, and The Guardian & The Observer.
Providing up-to-date bibliographic records covering essential areas related to public administration, including public administration theory, administration and economy, administration and politics, administration and society, administrative structures and organization, public and social services, public service personnel and theory and methods.
Routledge Handbooks Online brings together leading scholars to provide a cutting-edge overview of classic and current research and future trends in the Social Sciences and Humanities, while at the same time providing an authoritative guide to theory and method, the key sub-disciplines, and the primary debates of today. The Library only subscribes to the Education titles
SAGE Knowledge includes an expansive range of SAGE eBook and eReference content- including scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, business case studies, and streaming video.
SAGE Research Methods is a methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. The SSRN eLibrary consists of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts on over 542,600 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 445,100 downloadable full text documents in Adobe Acrobat pdf format.
Including bibliographic records covering essential areas related to the study of cities and regions, this database explores such topics as urban affairs, community development, urban history and other subjects of key relevance to the discipline.
Includes Science Citation Index (1970-), Social Sciences Citation Index (1981-), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1981-), and Emerging Sources Citation Index (2005-present). Daily updates make it a good source for very recent information. Citations include number of times the article has been cited.
Use the Journal Citation Reports (JCR) to find impact factors for journals in science, social sciences, and technology.
Wiley Online Library hosts a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers over 6 million articles from over 1,500 journals, over 18,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.
Information from thousands of foreign media sources: speeches, radio, television, newspapers, periodicals, and books. Includes unclassified military, political, environmental, sociological, scientific and technical data. All translated into English.
A directory of links to online news sources from around the world. It is organized on a geographical basis. It contains links to newspapers and other sites with news content such as broadcast stations, internet services, magazines, and press agencies.
Open access to over 1,500,000 e-prints in Physics (including Astronomy), Mathematics, Computer Science, Statistics, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance, Electrical Engineering & Systems Science, and Economics
Big Charts is the world's most comprehensive and easy-to-use investment research Website, providing access to professional-level research tools such as interactive charts, quotes, industry analysis and intraday stock screeners, as well as market news and commentary. Market Watch is a service of Dow Jones & Company.
Preprint service in the fields of Medicine & Health Sciences; Social & Behavioral Sciences (including Economics); and Physical Sciences and Mathematics (including Computer Sciences, Statistics and Probability). Hosted by the Center for Open Science for the University of California, Berkeley.
The Congressional Record is the official record of proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session. Publication began in 1873. The Congressional Research Service is a division of the Library of Congress. The GPO and the Library of Congress have digitized the entire CR.
Current data about US retailers and restaurants, sortable by Earnings, Margins, Revenues & Sales, Store Productivity, Same-Store Sales, Real Estate, Employment, Advertising, Digital and Credit Ratings. Can sort by sectors, and combine them. Part of Insider Intelligence. Includes ECommerce Performance Metrics. You can also research topics in other Coverage Areas.
Reports from the Congressional Research Service (Congress's think tank) provide valuable insight and non-partisan analysis of issues of public debate. This non-government site makes it easier to locate these reports.
German Institute of Global and Area Studies is an independent research institute based in Hamburg and affiliated with the Liebnitz Association that does research on politics, economy and society in Africa, Asia, Latin America and the Middle East as well as on global issues. They provide the Focus series of research and analysis reports, access to 4 peer-reviewed journals, and many other resources. Their library provides access to the online catalog (OPAC) which includes the World Affairs Online database, the largest social sciences bibliographic database in Europe.
Created by the International Business Center and the Eli Broad College at Michigan State University. Knowledge web-portal connecting international business professionals to a wealth of information, insights and learning resources on global business activities.
OSF (Open Science Framework) Preprints is a federated search platform that allows you to search across a number of established and new preprint servers. This link allows you to search for business-related preprints.