Commerce

• ACM Digital Library 1985-present. A collection of citations and full text from ACM journal and newsletter articles and conference proceedings.

• arXiv Open access to over 1,000,000 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.  

• ASTM Science and Engineering Digital Library The ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library is a vast collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. The Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.

• BrowZine Web  Provides immediate access to thousands of top scholarly journals in a visually immersive browsing environment. Subjects include Business and Economics; Engineering and Technology; and Biological Sciences. 

• CiteSeer.IST CiteSeerx is an evolving scientific literature digital library and search engine that has focused primarily on the literature in computer and information science.

• Compendex (Ei Compendex*Plus) 1969-present. A large interdisciplinary engineering literature database listing journal articles, technical reports and conferences. It includes book reviews, standards, patents, handbooks, and other materials.

• Computer and Information Systems Abstracts Lists journal articles, conference proceedings, tech reports, patents, books, and industry news on topics such as artificial intelligence, information systems, computer applications/programming, hardware, software engineering and mathematics of computing.

• Computers & Applied Sciences Complete Journals and other reference sources covering engineering and the business and social aspects of new technology as well as computer theory and systems.

• CRCnetBase Searchable full-text of hundreds of reference handbooks in engineering, chemistry, biology, medicine, technology and the environment.

• Electronics and Communications Abstracts Search for publications on such topics as circuits, components, photonics, telecommunications and telecommunications equipment.

• Ei Compendex*Plus A large interdisciplinary engineering database listing journal articles, technical reports and conferences. Includes book reviews.

• Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Ethics The articles consider both the professional ethics of science and technology and the ethical and political issues raised by science and technology in an increasingly complex and global society.

• Forrester Research (only available to McIntire School of Commerce) Business technology research and frameworks to gain insights into the changing customer, design business strategies and operations around customers, and prioritize technology investments and decisions. Their technology research is geared towards a variety of technology functions including: CIO/Technology Executives, Infrastructure & Operations, Security & Risk, Application Development & Delivery, Enterprise Architecture, and Sourcing and Vendor management. After clicking the link you will need to create a profile to access these resources. Only available to McIntire affiliates.

• Homeland Security Digital Library Database provided by the Homeland Security Agency. Find articles, government documents, research papers, and books on all aspects of homeland security, most with links to online full text.

• IEEE Xplore Find articles and other information from the journals, proceedings and standards published by IEEE and by the Institution of Electrical Engineers. Full-text is from 1988 to present with some selected earlier content.

• INSPEC Scientific and technical journals and conference proceedings in computing, electrical engineering, physics. Updated monthly.

• MathSciNet MathSciNet is based on the data in Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications, publications that catalog and review research literature in mathematics.

• NTIS: National Technical Information Service NTIS contains bibliographic citations and summaries of U.S. Government-sponsored research, development, and engineering reports.

• O'Reilly for Higher Education Used to be called Safari Books Online. Includes tech and business content from more than 250 publishers including O'Reilly, Sams, New Riders, Adobe - along with videos, case studies, expert-curated learning paths and self-assessments.
  To access: From the drop-down menu, choose: Not listed? Click here. Then enter UVa email address.

• OSTI: Office of Scientific and Technical Information DOE research reports and links to other information related to energy issues.

• ProQuest SciTech Collection This database combines full text journals with detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology. Areas covered include materials science, aerospace engineering, civil engineering, biology, aquatic sciences, environmental science, computer science and earth sciences in addition to many more. It fully incorporates ProQuest Natural Science Collection and ProQuest Technology Collection.

• SAGE Research Methods SAGE Research Methods is a methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, economics, business & management, and marketing, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher.
• ScienceResearch.com Search many public science Web sites and a large selection of journals for topics in the natural, physical and social sciences, including computers and technology.

• SciTech Connect  SciTech Connect is a portal to free, publicly-available DOE-sponsored R&D results including technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia and data information. SciTech Connect is a consolidation of two core DOE search engines, the Information Bridge and the Energy Citations Database and incorporates all of the R&D information from these two products into one search interface.

• SpringerLink Searchable full-text of journals and ebooks published by Springer and its subsidiaries such as Physica and Birkhäuser in chemistry, geosciences, computer science, life sciences, mathematics, medicine, physics, engineering, ecology, law, and economics.

• Statista An online statistics, market research, and business intelligence portal.  It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions in English, French, German, and Spanish.  It consolidates data from over 22,000 sources on 80,000 topics.

• Web of Knowledge/Web of Science Includes Science Citation Index (1970-), Social Sciences Citation Index (1981-), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1981-) Daily updates make it a good source for very recent information. Citations include number of times the article has been cited.  Use the Journal Citation Reports (JCR) to find impact factors for journals in science, social sciences, and technology.

The McIntire School of Commerce provides access to several resources that are not available outside the school.  Many of these resources are on the computers in the Rouss & Robertson Hall computer labs and include:

• Forrester Research
• Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)
• Qualtrics, the Center for Research in Security Prices (CRISP)
• CAPITALIQ
• Research software:
  • Crystal Ball
  • Research Insight
  • SDC Platinum
• Analytical software:
  • SPSS, Construx Estimate 2.0
  • Dundas Evaluation
  • MegaStat Excel Plug-in
• Educational software, like Trading Technologies' stock trading simulation.

Questions should be directed to the McIntire Help Desk, helpdesk@comm.virginia.edu.