Commerce

Subscription-based Databases

Start here:

• Academic Search Complete Covers wide range of academic and general periodicals.
• Business Source Complete  Large database on business topics such as marketing, management, MIS, accounting, finance and economics. Includes scholarly journals plus financial data, books, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, market, industry, and country research. 
• EconLit  International coverage of economics in journal articles, books, dissertations, book reviews. 
• Factiva  Company and business information from Dow Jones; articles from over 6,000 newspapers and periodicals plus news photographs. Use "and" between search terms. Select "News pages" to browse daily issues of recent newspapers from many countries; use "Search" to find older articles. Logout at the end of a session to avoid problems connecting the next time. 
• IBISWorld Our subscription includes both the Industry reports and the Procurement reports. The Industry reports cover more than 700 U.S. industries, as defined by the 5-digit NAICS number. Each 30-40 page report covers industry conditions, performance, products and markets, key statistics, success factors, the competitive landscape, segmentation, size, trends, and outlook.  The Procurement reports provide research on nearly 1,000 goods and services. They are presented in a standard format that includes an overview, characteristics of the product or service, supply markets and suppliers, and RFP and negotiation strategies. 
• JSTOR - Older issues of scholarly journals, from the start to 3-5 years ago.
• Mergent Horizon  Find a company's customers, competitors, suppliers, and partners; run comparisons of companies in the same product group; find FDA reports on healthcare companies.
• MIT Sloan Management Review leads the discourse among academic researchers, business executives and other influential thought leaders about advances in management practice, particularly those shaped by technology, that are transforming how people lead and innovate. MIT SMR disseminates new management research and innovative ideas so that thoughtful executives can capitalize on the opportunities generated by rapid organizational, technological and societal change. 
• Web of Knowledge/Web of Science - Includes Science Citation Index (1970-), Social Sciences Citation Index (1981-), and Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1981-) Daily updates make it a good source for very recent information. Citations include number of times the article has been cited. Use the Journal Citation Reports (JCR) to find impact factors for journals in science, social sciences, and technology.

Discipline-specific:

• Computers & Applied Sciences Complete  Journals and other reference sources covering engineering and the business and social aspects of new technology as well as computer theory and systems. 
• DBpia Fulltext articles from 1500 academic journals in 11 subject areas (business/economics, arts & recreation, education, engineering, humanities, language & literature, law & public administration, medicine, natural sciences, social sciences, theology).
• Communication and Mass Media Complete Communication & Mass Media Complete provides coverage of journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. It provides indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 450 journals. 
• Gartner's Core Research Library  Gartner is a leading information technology firm that provides research and analysis services to support decision-making in higher education and other industry sectors. Their Core Research library includes white papers, webinars, and more on an array of technology-related topics, including: information technology, administration, medical and healthcare programs, library sciences, industry trends, and analysis. 
• GreenFILE Find journal articles and other information on environmental issues such as global warming, energy conservation, natural resources and pollution. GreenFILE supports both research and practical steps for individuals.
• GPO Monthly Catalog (1976-present) List of all types of publications from U.S. Government agencies that are issued by the Government Printing Office 
• Hein Online  Retrospective, full-text .pdf coverage of hundreds of legal periodicals, U.S. Supreme Court cases, the U.S. Statutes at Large, Congressional Record, hearings and other legislative history materials, Federal Register, U.S. Attorney General opinions, U.S. treaties and agreements, Foreign and International Law, Israel Law Reports, English Reports, Hague Academy Recueil des Cours, Parker School of Foreign and Comparative Law collection, and the Virginia Law Weekly archive. Searchable by citation, author/title, and keyword. 
• Homeland Security Digital Library Database provided by the Homeland Security Agency. Find articles, government documents, research papers, and books on all aspects of homeland security, most with links to online full text.
• Hospitality & Tourism Complete  Journals, newsletters, industry reports, and some books covering topics such as culinary arts, development & investment, food & beverage management, hospitality law, hotel management & administrative practices, leisure & business travel. 
• International Strategic Analysis (ISA)  ISA is an international research and consulting firm headquartered in Luxembourg. It provides country intelligence, economic forecasting, and international market analysis to companies, financial institutions, government bodies, and universities.
• National Academies Press Reports from the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council, written by leading researchers on health, science, and engineering.
• Wiley Online Library - Wiley Online Library hosts a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers over 6 million articles from over 1,500 journals, over 18,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.

Open Access Literature

• Eldis  Eldis is an online information service providing free access to relevant, up-to-date and diverse research on international development issues. It includes over 30,000 summaries and links to free full-text research and policy documents from over 8,000 publishers. 
• OAlster Links to Open Access digital resources in over 1000 collections - books, images, videos, datasets, theses, technical reports, research papers.
• Open Knowledge Repository (World Bank) The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products. Through the OKR, The World Bank collects, disseminates, and permanently preserves its intellectual output in digital form. 
• SSRN: Social Science Research Network - Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences. The SSRN eLibrary consists of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts on over 542,600 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 445,100 downloadable full text documents in Adobe Acrobat pdf format.

Periodicals

• Access World News This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. It currently contains over 9,600 sources from 160 countries. 
• Newspaper Source Plus - Full text of major American newspapers and some foreigh newspapers plus selected stories from other US regional newspapers. Also includes full-text of transcripts for television and radio network news broadcasts.
• NexisUNI - News and business information from sources around the world; book reviews, biographical, and other reference sources; U.S. Code, constitution, and court cases. Includes many newspapers. Most entries are full-text, some updated daily. 
• onlinenewspapers.com - Easy to use menu to find newspapers from all around the world. Some newspapers are not available full text for free but may be included in databases the Library subscribes to. Use Find@UVa to check. 
• ProQuest Historical Newspapers - New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Defender, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Norfolk Journal and Guide, Pittsburgh Courier, NY Amsterdam News, Baltimore Afro-American, and Washington Post.  
• Regional Business News  - Journals, newspapers, and newswires from urban and rural areas of the US. 
• Social Science and Humanities Library - Provides online access to a broad range of journal content across 14 disciplines related to social sciences and humanities, including media and communication studies, library and information science, security and defense studies, business, management and economics, and education. Includes many journals published on behalf of associations, organizations, and societies related to these disciplines.
• World News Connection - Information from thousands of foreign media sources: speeches, radio, television, newspapers, periodicals, and books. Includes unclassified military, political, environmental, sociological, scientific and technical data. All translated into English.  

Foreing Language

• China Academic Journals (中国期刊全文数据库)  A full-text journal database covering the contents of over 7,000 journals published in China. [1915 - present]. The library's subscription covers Literature/ History/ Philosophy; Politics/ Military Affairs/ Law.  This resource is best used with Internet Explorer.
• CiNii - 論文情報 ナビゲータ  "Citation Information by NII" enables searching of information on academic papers published in academic society journals or university research bulletins, or included in the National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index Database.
• Economia y Negocios  Covers business periodicals in Spanish and Portuguese published in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Spain, the United States and elsewhere.
• KINDS: Korea Integrated News Database System  - Full-text archive of major, local, internet, and industry newspapers, magazines, and TV reports since 1990. Some publications go back to the period of Japanese rule.

Once you click on "Explore Journals", you can browse the entire library by clicking on the Red Change Subject link above the subject field.  That will take you to the BrowZine discipline index.

Topics included:

Accounting; Business Administration & Management; Business Communication; Business Education; Business Ethics & Public Responsibility; E-Commerce; Entrepreneurship & Small Business; Finance & Insurance; Hospitality & Tourism; Human Resources Management; Industrial & Labor Relations; International & Global Business; Leadership & Strategic Management; Logistics & Operations; Management & Nonprofit Organizations; Management Information Systems; Management Sciences & Quantitative Methods; Organizational Behavior & Theory; Real Estate & Housing; Retail & Service Industries; Social Entrepreneurship; Sport Management; and Total Quality Management.