Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Commerce

Databases, research tools, and other useful resources related to Commerce.

Entrepreneurship Resources

  • BrowZine Web  Provides immediate access to thousands of top scholarly journals in a visually immersive browsing environment. Subjects include Business and Economics; Engineering and Technology; and Biological Sciences.  
  • Business Source Complete Topics such as marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Find articles plus financial data, books, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, market, industry, and country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.
  • Career Insider by VAULT Download industry guides to learn more about a variety of industries, career paths and career advice. You can also search for jobs and internships in consulting, finance, marketing/PR, healthcare, media, and many more industries. Make an individual account using the link. 
  • CCH OmniTax Library  Federal, state and international tax research materials. - Federal: Standard Federal Tax Reporter, U.S. Master Tax Guide, IRS Publications, Internal Revenue Code, U.S. Tax Cases, Federal Estate and Gift Reporter, Internal Revenue Manual, and more.- State: 51 state (+D.C.) tax reporters, State Tax Guide, Multistate Corporation Income Tax Guide, Multistate Sales and Property Tax Guides, State Tax Review.- International: Tax Treaties Reporter. 
  • dataZoa  dataZoa is an online tool that provides users with drag-and-drop access to over 3 billion data series in economics, health, energy, demographics, finance, and more. Users can graze websites, such as the Bureau of Labor Statistics, UNdata, and Zillow and import data series into their own personal web-based account. dataZoa connections are live, so once a data series in selected, dataZoa will automatically import the most current data. Users also have the option of uploading and hosting their own original data. dataZoa can be used to view, analyze, share, download, and create charts and tabular displays. To get started, create a new account on the dataZoa website with your university email address. 
  • Book Collection (Ebscohost)  Electronic books by university presses and other scholarly publishers, as well as a collection of older titles by major authors. Individual titles are listed in Virgo.
  • ebrary​  Over 70,000 recent e-books from university presses and other scholarly publishers. Individual titles are listed in Virgo.
  • Eldis  Eldis is an online information service providing free access to relevant, up-to-date and diverse research on international development issues. It includes over 30,000 summaries and links to free full-text research and policy documents from over 8,000 publishers.
  • Engineering Village  This database hosts a range of databases covering entrepreneurship, marketing, business intelligence, and many other areas. Compendex, Inspec, Inspec Archive, and NTIS with one search interface.
  • Factiva  Company and business information from Dow Jones; articles from over 6,000 newspapers and periodicals plus news photographs. Select "News pages" to browse daily issues of recent newspapers from many countries; use "Search" to find older articles.
  • Foundation Directory Online  Foundation Directory Online Professional provides access to an unprecedented wealth of timely, comprehensive information on grantmakers and their grants. Included is a database of the entire universe of U.S. foundations, corporate giving programs, and grantmaking public charities, plus a growing number of non-U.S. grantmakers; a database of sponsoring companies, offering a quick pathway to corporate funders; a database of recently awarded grants; and a keyword-searchable database of recently filed IRS Forms 990 and 990-PF.
  • GreenFILE Find journal articles and other information on environmental issues such as global warming, energy conservation, natural resources and pollution. GreenFILE supports both research and practical steps for individuals.
  • Hein Online  Retrospective, full-text .pdf coverage of hundreds of legal periodicals, U.S. Supreme Court cases, the U.S. Statutes at Large, Congressional Record, hearings and other legislative history materials, Federal Register, U.S. Attorney General opinions, U.S. treaties and agreements, Foreign and International Law, Israel Law Reports, English Reports, Hague Academy Recueil des Cours, Parker School of Foreign and Comparative Law collection, and the Virginia Law Weekly archive. Searchable by citation, author/title, and keyword. 
  • LinkedIn Learning (formerly lynda.com) is a leading online learning company that helps anyone learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. Members have access to the video library of engaging, top-quality courses taught by recognized industry experts. Courses include: marketing, digital marketing, online marketing, and email marketing; business, business plan, business analysis, business etiquette and business processes; entrepreneurship; advertising; and many business-oriented software packages.
  • O'Reilly for Higher Education Used to be called Safari Books Online. Includes tech and business content from more than 250 publishers including O'Reilly, Sams, New Riders, Adobe - along with videos, case studies, expert-curated learning paths and self-assessments.
    From the drop-down menu, choose: Not listed? Click here. Then enter UVa email address to access content.
  • ProQuest SciTech Collection  This database combines full text journals with detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology. Areas covered include entrepreneurship, business, marketing, industry, in addition to many more. It fully incorporates ProQuest Natural Science Collection and ProQuest Technology Collection.
  • Routledge Handbooks Online  RHO brings together leading scholars to provide a cutting-edge overview of classic and current research and future trends in the Social Sciences and Humanities, while at the same time providing an authoritative guide to theory and method, the key sub-disciplines, and the primary debates of today.  They have many business oriented collections including Business, Management & Accounting; Entrepreneurship and Small Business Management; and Economics and Finance. 
  • SAGE  SAGE is methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. 
  • Statista An online statistics, market research, and business intelligence portal.  It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions in English, French, German, and Spanish.  It consolidates data from over 22,000 sources on 80,000 topics.
  • Web of Knowledge/Web of Science  Index to academic journals within a wide range of subject areas, including innovation and entrepreneurship.  Daily updates make it a good source for very recent information. Citation search and links to full text articles.

  • Wiley Online Library  Wiley Online Library hosts a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering the sciences, humanities, business, marketing and entrepreneurship. It delivers over 6 million articles from over 1,500 journals, over 18,000 online books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.
  • WIPO  Access to the WIPO IP and Technology Databases: PATENTSCOPE; Global Brand Database; ROMARIN; Global Design Database; WIPO Pearl; International Classifications; WIPO Standards; Treaties. 

Organizations and Web Resources

  • Demographics Research Group - Weldon Cooper Center for Public Service  Virginia and national population estimates and projections, news, interactive maps, and school-age population projections. 
  • Entrepreneur  Website and magazine with news, articles, blogs, how to, franchises, and more.  
  • GEM - Global Entrepreneurship Monitor  GEM is a global study on entrepreneurship conducted by a consortium of universities.  Over 100 countries and 17 years of data, the study looks at the entrepreneurial behavior and attitudes of individuals and the national context and how it impacts entrepreneurship. 
  • globalEDGE: Created by the International Business Center and the Eli Broad College at Michigan State University. Knowledge web-portal connecting international business professionals to a wealth of information, insights and learning resources on global business activities. 
  • Owler Hard to find company data
  • Packaged Facts Market research on the consumer goods and services industries 
  • Harvard Business Review   Website and general management business magazine with articles, blogs, best practices, case studies, and more.
  • Inc  Small business resources for entrepreneurs. Articles, reports, newsletters, business magazine focused on growing companies, and additional online resources.
  • Fast Company Website and business magazine with articles, news, videos, and more.
  • Mashable  Largest independent online news site covering digital culture, social media and technology. 
  • R&D Magazine Provides timely, informative news and useful technical articles that broaden readers' knowledge of the R&D industry.  Features the latest technology, products and equipment used in laboratory research.  Sponsors the R&D 100 Awards - the 100 most technologically significant new products of the year. 
  • U.S. Small Business Administration  The SBA is an independent agency of the federal government created to aid, counsel, assist and protect the interests of small business concerns, to preserve free competitive enterprise and to maintain and strengthen the overall economy of our nation. The SBA helps Americans start, build and grow businesses.
  • TechCrunch  Online publisher of technology industry news, from startups to established businesses.