Commerce

Databases, research tools, and other useful resources related to Commerce.

Start here! Best bets for Commerce

Welcome to the Commerce Research Guide! If you have any questions, reach out to Nicholas Cummins, Research Librarian for Economics & Commerce.

These are the best databases from the majority of students in Commerce:

ProQuest One Business

ProQuest One Business supports the teaching and learning needs of business faculty and students. It combines multiple ProQuest business information databases including ABI/INFORM and JP Morgan Research, among others, for a total of more than 130 million documents.
Dewey Data
You must register for a Dewey account using your UVA email address and authenticate with NetBadge.
Dewey Data is a research platform that provides access to third-party datasets across a variety of data categories including healthcare, management, workforce, consumer behavior, and transportation. Learn more about accessing and using Dewey Data.
Business Source Complete

Topics such as marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Find articles plus financial data, books, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, market, industry, and country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.

Download options
Chapter/content section downloads
Download format
PDF
Mobile app
The EBSCO Mobile app for iOS and Android lets users search Business Source Complete and view or listen to chapters/content sections.
Market Atlas
Market Atlas provides tools for both interactive online research and easy predefined report access. These tools and reports are reflected across multiple product modules including Company, Sustainability, Industry, Country, and Economic analysis.
The Market Atlas database of corporate information covering over 50,000 US and foreign public companies, current and historical (past 15 years) firm descriptions, statistics, financial information and ratios, annual reports, mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, long-term debt, capital stock, and insider trading.
IBISWorld
IBIS World provides insight into America's 700+ industries through accurate and current business information focused on economic, demographic and government data.
Data Axle Reference Solutions
Data Axle Reference Solutions (formerly ReferenceUSA) provides numerous databases for business and consumer research. It offers access to over 20 million businesses and 222 million consumers.
Gartner
Gartner’s Campus Access Tool enables access to the Core Research library which includes white papers, webinars, and more on an array of technology-related topics, including: information technology, administration, medical and healthcare programs, library sciences, industry trends, and analysis.
Overton
Overton is the world’s largest searchable index of policy documents, guidelines, think tank publications and working papers. It collects data from 188 countries and over a thousand sources worldwide with more being added all the time.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research
Policy Commons
Database for public policy. Includes more than 3 million reports, working papers, policy briefs, data sources, and media drawn from a directory of more than 21,000 IGOs, NGOs, think tanks, and research centers.
API available, more information here: APIs for Scholarly Research
PolicyMap
PolicyMap is an online data and mapping tool that enables government, commercial, non-profit and academic institutions to access data about communities and markets across the US. Use it for research, market studies, business planning, site selection, grant applications and impact analysis.
ProcurementIQ

ProcurementIQ is a market intelligence partner providing a comprehensive range of products and services that meet the specific needs of procurement departments. It is a division of IBISWorld Inc.
Social Explorer
Interactive Maps and Reports provide easy access to demographic information about the United States. Data comes from the Census beginning in 1790 and from the Religious Congregations and Membership Study beginning in 1980. Also has crime and health data.
Statista

Choose University of Virginia in the drop-down list under “If you have access” and login through NetBadge.
Statista.com consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.

Quick Access to Popular Resources

Periodicals

Harvard Business Review (Business Source Complete)
Harvard Business Review Digital Articles (Business Source Complete)
Bloomberg Businessweek (Business Source Complete)
Fortune (Business Source Complete)
The Economist (ABI/INFORM Global)
New York Times (Free online access for UVA faculty, staff, and students - Note: must be on grounds or have VPN enabled when initially creating free account)
Financial Times Click this link to activate your institutional subscription. Students, faculty, and staff should use their computingID@comm.virginia.edu address to subscribe. (Note: a FT subscription is only available for current McIntire students, staff, and faculty.)
Wall Street Journal (Free online access for UVA faculty, staff, and students. To access, visit https://wsj.com/uva. You will be prompted to create an account, which you can then use on wsj.com, the Wall Street Journal app, and the Wall Street Journal archives.)

Databases

S&P Capital IQ - All McIntire students automatically receive an account but must reset their password to login. Students, faculty, and staff can reset their own passwords using the "forgot password" button and their computingID@virginia.edu address on the Capital IQ login page. (Note: Cap IQ is only accessible by current McIntire faculty, staff, and students.)
Gallup Analytics - Gallup Analytics is an online platform that provides subscribers with access to nearly a century of U.S. data and a decade of global tracking data known as the Gallup World Poll.
Gallup Microdata - Gallup survey data for the US and worldwide. Must request through the library.
Business Search Complete - Find articles plus financial data, books, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, market, industry, and country reports, company profiles, and SWOT analyses.
Factiva - Articles from over 6,000 newspapers and periodicals, plus company and business information.
IBISWorld - 700+ industries through accurate and current business information focused on economic, demographic and government data. Also see Procurement IQ (formerly IBISWorld Procurement) below.
JSTOR - Historical collections of important academic journals that include economics, finance, marketing, operations research, statistics and management.
NexisUni - News, business information, legal information, statistics, and more.
LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com) - Offers video training on business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals.
O'Reilly for Higher Education (formerly Safari Books Online) - Thousands of best-selling, top-rated IT, computing, technology and business books by leading authors.
To access: Below dropdown menu, click on Institution Not Listed? and then enter UVA email address.
ProcurementIQ - A market intelligence partner providing a comprehensive range of products and services that meet the specific needs of procurement departments. A division of IBISWorld, Inc.
Statista - Consolidates statistical data on over 80,000 topics from more than 22,500 sources.
Video and Media Resources - The library has over 50,000 videos on DVD, VHS, and LaserDisc and more than 25,000 streaming videos online. The collection is about 65% feature films and 35% documentaries.
World Integrated Trade Solution (WITS) - This software allows users to access and retrieve information on trade and tariffs. The World Bank — in collaboration with the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) and in consultation with organizations such as International Trade Center, United Nations Statistical Division (UNSD) and the World Trade Organization (WTO) — developed the World Integrated Trade Solution (WITS).

Software

UVA Software Gateway
UVA Learning Tech
UVA Zoom Home
Zotero (Citation Manager)

At the Library

Library Locations & Hours | Reserve a Study Space | Before you visit, check the Status Dashboard

For research help, contact your Subject Librarian | Web chat is open seven days a week! Ask a Librarian

Library Catalog | Off-Grounds Access | Journal Finder | Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Databases A-Z | Course Reserves | Purchase Requests

Off-Grounds Access to Library Electronic Resources

You can access Library electronic resources from on- or off-grounds. The links you will find on the Library webpages, including this guide, contain the EZProxy, which will offer you seamless access to the resources from off-grounds without needing to use the VPN. You can read more about off-grounds Access including the EZProxy and the VPN.

You can also make use of the Libkey Nomad browser extension, which gives UVA affiliates direct access to journal articles from the publisher's web page without needing to use the VPN, or EZProxy links, whether you are on- or off-grounds. You can read more about Libkey Nomad here.

Last Updated: Dec 11, 2025 2:53 PM
URL: https://guides.lib.virginia.edu/commerce
Print Page

Subjects: Commerce

Tags: business, commerce, entrepreneurship, finance, literature review, management, marketing

Commerce

Contact your Economics & Commerce Librarian

Related Subject Guides